holmes st schol 042921SPRINGFIELD – State Senator Linda Holmes (D-Aurora) recently honored five Aurora-area high school students who were named 2021-22 Illinois State Scholars by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission.

Illinois State Scholar winners rank in approximately the top 10% of the state’s high school seniors from 676 high schools in all 102 counties. Selection is based on a combination of standardized test scores and class rank or unweighted GPA at the end of the student’s junior year. ISAC works in conjunction with the students’ high school guidance counselors to determine the winners.

“I am so proud of all the hard work these students have put in despite the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic,” Holmes said. “This prestigious award recognizes their commitment to educational achievement. These Scholars are the best of the best, and recognition of their efforts is well deserved.”

The Scholars include students from five high schools, including Waubonsie Valley, Aurora Central Catholic, East Aurora, Rosary and Oswego East high schools.

Recipients of the award will receive a congratulatory letter from ISAC, and a Certificate of Achievement will be sent to their high school. State Scholars will also receive a digital badge issued by ISAC that can be displayed on online profiles, exhibited on social media, and shared with prospective colleges and employers.

“The college and financial assistance application process is extremely competitive. This Illinois State Scholar recognition will give these students the opportunity to afford and attend a college of their choice,” Holmes said.

More information about the State Scholar program can be found at ISAC’s website.